The truth about watching currently airing anime.

It’s been about 3 years since I’ve started watching currently airing anime even though at that time I was only watching about one or two series, I was still pretty excited waiting for the next episodes. Truth is, the wait itself was the exciting part making me try to guess what would happen next.

 

And because of that I was 99% of the times under the impression that what I was watching was by far the most awesome anime out there ( of course I was dissapointed each time an anime ended and wished for a second season only to facepalm myself later for wishing something like that). This process repeated for a long long time before I actually realised this.

 

Truth is, the chances of actually finding an awesome anime in a season are really low. For example: The only awesome anime in the last 2 years were Madoka,Steins;Gate,Gosick,AnoHana,Fate/zero and a few more. Considering the huge number that have aired during this time I say that the chances are really low. Even though our real purpose for watching airing anime is to find good anime like theese we still enjoy most of them. As I said above, the wait itself is the part which gets up excited about them. This is just a little something which I was thinking about recently so I thought I’d share it with you guys. Tell me what you think.

 

4 thoughts on “The truth about watching currently airing anime.

  1. In the past two years, I could name over a dozen great titles that came out. Maybe you’re just not homing in on the right anime?

    Heck, in just the past year, Some of my favorites have been: Fate/Zero, Saint Seiya Omega, Another, Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou, Mirai Nikki, Upotte!! (yeah, really), Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? of the Dead, Eureka Seven Ao, Sankarea, Sword Art Online, Yuru Yuri Season 2 (though it had to build up a bit before it got back on track), and that’s just the past three seasons!

    True, some completely horrible anime came out within that time as well, but don’t underestimate the really fun, entertaining series that have come out.

    • I only rate a show after it’s done so I can’t put SAO in there but it certainly is great. I’ve also read the light novels. As for Kore was zombie desu ka, eureka seve,sankarea and yuru yuri they were good but nothing special. What I’m talking about is truly awesome anime such as Death Note,Code Geass, Steins;Gate, etc.

      Anyway the purpose for this post was not to whine about the incredible low number of good anime but to simply talk about the airing shows. I merely wanted to say that watching airing shows is fun regardless of how good the anime actually are. The 1 week wait for an episode makes them so exciting.

      • I can relate to how you feel about the current projects being “good but nothing special” as I personally feel that they are not influential enough, or rather lacking of impact towards viewers like how Steins;Gate did with the mind torturing loops, Madoka Magica with it’s flawless camouflage as well as AnoHana’s unbreakable bonds.

        I do love many of the current series but there ain’t any ace within this season for they do not have a mind etching image of their concept. Can’t really judge them till we completed them so hopefully something goes big soon as we are almost done with quarter of the current season.

        Besides the quality of the series, it also greatly depends on the genre of the story for they each have their own significant purpose and goal; and individual’s interest & perception differs whereby everyone may watch the same episode of a particular anime and can easily have half of the population dropping it and the other becoming hard-core fans, (taking Accel World as an example).

        However I felt ashamed of myself whereby you mentioned Code Geass which was one of those that I did not complete with, due to the lack of clear progression, I may probably try it again after reading this post of yours.

        I got myself adjusted with the current lifestyle thanks to the series that are being broadcast, giving myself a little break, a slight change for the current & upcoming season, probably getting back to full action on Spring season.

Leave a Reply

